Cary, N.C. — Lisa Godwin, an Onslow County kindergarten teacher, was named the 2017 Burroughs Wellcome Fund North Carolina Teacher of the Year during an awards ceremony Thursday in Cary.

Godwin was selected from a field of nine finalists representing the state’s eight education districts and charter schools.

The other regional finalists were:

Northeast: Amy Parker, Hertford Grammar (Perquimans County Schools)North Central: Miles Macleod, Heritage High (Wake County Schools)Sandhills: Juandalynn Ray, Sampson Middle (Clinton City Schools)Piedmont-Triad: Adam Reeder, Asheboro High (Asheboro City Schools)Southwest: Anthony Johnson, Jr., Isenberg Elementary (Rowan-Salisbury Schools)Northwest: Carrie Franklin, Glenwood Elementary (McDowell County Schools)Western: Leslie Schoof, Madison Early College High (Madison County Schools)Charter Schools: Deborah Brown, Research Triangle High (Research Triangle Park)

Godwin is now in her third year teaching at Dixon Elementary School in Holly Ridge, where she returned to the classroom in 2014 after working as an assistant principal for four and a half years in Onslow and Lee county schools.

State Superintendent Mark Johnson, who announced this year’s winner, said Godwin represents the very best talent in North Carolina’s schools, measuring her own success by that of her students – regardless of where they start – and seeing public education as the nation’s open door to opportunity and life success.

Read more…