ST. LOUIS, MISS. – The U.S. Basketball Writers Association announced today the 32 watch list members for the 2018 Oscar Robertson Trophy. Duke led the way as the only school with four players to place among the 32 members. Senior guard Grayson Allen, the team’s leading returning scorer (14.5 ppg) and rebounder (3.7 rpg), along with freshmen Marvin Bagley III, Wendell Carter, Jr. and Trevon Duval were the four Blue Devils to make the preseason list.

The Oscar Robertson Trophy Preseason Watch List adds another preseason honor to the impressive list Duke has garnered. Allen has been named to several preseason All-American lists as well as the 2018 Jerry West Watch List. Bagley III and Carter, Jr. both earned spots on the 2018 Karl Malone Watch List with Bagley III also being named ACC Preseason Rookie of the Year. Duval was named to the 2018 Bob Cousy Watch List.

The Oscar Robertson Trophy is voted on by the entire membership of the association, which consists of more than 900 journalists. It is the nation’s oldest award and the only one named after a former player. The legendary Oscar Robertson was the USBWA’s first player of the year in 1959 and was the consensus National Player of the Year as a sophomore in 1958, the season before USBWA started giving its player of the year award.

Read more…