NEW YORK – Former Duke head coach Steve Spurrier was one of 13 individuals inducted in the College Football Hall of Fame Class of 2017 on Tuesday evening at the New York Hilton Midtown.

Spurrier served as the head coach of the Blue Devils from 1987-89 and compiled an overall ledger of 20-13-1. The ACC Coach of the Year selection in both 1988 and 1989, he guided Duke to the ACC Championship and All American Bowl appearance in 1989.
The Heisman Trophy recipient in 1966 as a quarterback at Florida, Spurrier went on to serve as the head coach at his alma mater (1990-01) and South Carolina (2005-15) and finished with an overall collegiate coaching ledger of 228-89-2 with seven conference championships, 21 bowl game berths and the 1996 national crown. Spurrier is a member of the College Football Hall of Fame as a player.
Spurrier becomes the fourth Duke head coach to be enshrined into the College Football Hall of Fame, joining Howard Jones (inducted in 1951), Wallace Wade (1955) and Bill Murray (1974). In addition, former Duke head coach Mike McGee was inducted into the Hall of Fame as a player in 1990 and is joined by eight other Blue Devils including Fred Crawford (1973), Al DeRogatis (1986), Dan Hill (1962), Clarkston Hines (2010), Steve Lach (1980), George McAfee (1961), Ace Parker (1955) and Eric Tipton (1965).

Read more…