South Carolina State linebacker Darius Leonard has done what his former teammate and now Pittsburgh Steelers defensive tackle Javon Hargrave did just two years ago.

Repeat as BOXTOROW Willie Davis Defensive Player of the Year.

The redshirt senior from Lake View, S.C. also repeated as MEAC Defensive Player of the Year after leading the league in tackles (113), averaging 7.3 solo tackles per game, which is second best in FCS. He also recorded 10 tackles or more in seven games, had eight sacks and 11.5 tackles for loss.

Bowie State quarterback Amir Hall was voted BOXTOROW Offensive Player of the Year.

North Carolina A&T head coach Rod Broadway was voted BOXTOROW Coach of the Year, equaling Grambling State head coach Broderick Fobbs and former Winston-Salem State head coach Connell Maynor as the coaches to win the award twice. However, Broadway is the first in the history of the award to win it with two different teams, winning it in 2008 as the head coach of Grambling.

Virginia State running back Trenton Cannon was awarded the BOXTOROW Special Teams Player of the Year.

Howard quarterback Caylin Newton was voted BOXTOROW Impact Player of the Year as well as Rookie of the Year.

Read more…